Skip to content

Investors: Board of Directors


Raschid Abdullah - Executive Chairman

Raschid was appointed Executive Chairman in January 2013 and until its purchase by Petards was also Executive Chairman of Water Hall Group plc, which was listed on AIM.

He was previously Executive Chairman of Evered Holding plc, a fully listed public company specialising in industrial and quarry related products, from 1982 to 1989. Raschid started his commercial life within the construction industry in the areas of building product supplies and the provision of specialist subcontracting services starting his first business in 1971 which he sold to a competitor in 1976. He then joined the family business providing a range of services to clients in the Middle East.


Osman Abdullah - Group Chief Executive

Osman Abdullah was appointed to the Board in September 2010 as a Non-Executive Director, becoming executive chairman of the Group's principal trading subsidiary in 2013 and was appointed as Group Chief Executive in January 2016.

He was formerly Group Chief Executive of Evered Holdings plc, a fully listed public company specialising in industrial manufacturing, distribution and quarry mining related products from 1981 to 1989. He subsequently served as a Non-Executive Director of Umeco plc from 1993 to 2005 a fully listed company specialising in component distribution and the manufacture of composite material based products principally to the aerospace industry.


Paul Negus - Director

Paul Negus joined the Board in September 2014 responsible for business development for Petards rail products. He has considerable commercial experience having spent eight years as Managing Director of PIPS Technology Limited, a developer of automatic number plate recognition and CCTV systems first under private ownership and latterly under the ownership of Federal Signal Inc.


John Wakefield - Non Executive Director

John Wakefield was appointed in February 2023. He is an experienced quoted company director and corporate adviser. He qualified as a solicitor with McKenna & Co (now CMS) before moving into corporate finance, first with Williams de Broe Limited and then at Rowan Dartington & Co. Limited, where he was a founder director and shareholder and head of corporate finance. He was a corporate finance director of WH Ireland Limited from 2009 until 2016.

He has been a member of the AIM Advisory Group, chairman of the London Stock Exchange Regional Advisory Group for the South West and chairman of South West Angel and Investor Network Limited (SWAIN) from 2008 until 2016. He is currently Non-Executive Chairman of Baron Oil plc and a non-executive director of Drumz plc.

John is Chairman of the Nominations Committee and a member of both the Audit and Remuneration Committees.

He is senior Non-Exectuive Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.


Geraint Davies - Non Executive Director

Geraint Davies is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountant with over 30 years’ experience, working with global national and local organisations in the private and public sector. Prior to his appointment, Geraint held senior leadership roles in EY’s practices in the Channel Islands, the UK, and Europe, most recently in Malta. He has also previously held roles with PwC and Deloitte.

He is Chairman of the Audit Committee.


Board Committees

The two principal standing committees of the Board are the Audit and Remuneration Committees.


The Audit Committee convenes at least twice a year and is responsible for ensuring that the financial performance of the Group is properly reported on and monitored, and for meeting the auditors and reviewing their reports in relation to the accounts and the audit.


The Remuneration Committee convenes at least twice a year and is responsible for setting the scale and structure of the executive directors remuneration. It also recommends the allocation of share options to directors and other employees.

Independent advice is sought from outside advisors by the Chairman of each committee when felt appropriate and necessary.

The functions of the Nomination Committee are performed by the Board as a whole.

Scroll To Top